.

Opinion: 'Green Power' is Right for Evanston

An Evanston resident explains in a letter to the editor why using climate-friendly sources of power would be a boon to local businesses and households.

The following is a letter to the editor from Evanston resident Jack Darin:

March's election results show that Evanston residents like the idea of gathering our strength to get a better deal on the power we buy for our homes and small businesses.

The voters are right — aggregating our electricity purchasing will save us all money on our power bill, and can help clean the air by using 100% green power. However, there are other bottom-line benefits to going to an all-green supply that we need to capture for taxpayers and Evanston businesses.

First, buying green power is a bargain for Evanston taxpayers. Evanston's Climate Action Plan, which has the support of the City Council and a broad spectrum of residents and community organizations, calls for real steps to cut Evanston's pollution. Buying 100% green power would satisfy the emissions reductions goals of the Climate Action Plan, and at a negligible expense. We are a community that strives for the best — how often do we hit those goals on time and under budget? Anyone who opposes buying green power for Evanston either doesn't support the Climate Action Plan, or is in favor of more expensive means of meeting those goals.

Second, buying green power is a major business development opportunity for our community. Because Evanston's green power supply would also cover our small businesses, we can give those enterprises a very powerful marketing tool along with a lower electric bill. Our small businesses could boast of being located in "Evanston - a 100% Green Power Community," or that their products are produced with 100% green power. These are very powerful marketing advantages we can give Evanston businesses if we green their electric supply.

There are many reasons to be for 100% green power in Evanston.  On the one hand, we need to do the right thing for our health today and for future generations.   On the other hand, we have a chance to protect taxpayers and help our small businesses grow.  Either way, 100% clean power is a winner for Evanston.

Evanston Patch welcomes letters to the editor. Submissions should include your name and contact information, for purposes of verification, and may be edited for clarity or profanity. Letters reflect the opinion of the author, not necessarily that of Evanston Patch or its staff.

Richard Schulte April 30, 2012 at 07:01 PM
Here's the real story on "green energy". It's just a slush fund. "Eighty percent of the Department of Energy (DOE)'s green loans, loan guarantees, and grants went to Obama backers. As Gomer Pyle used to say, "Surprise, surprise, surprise." Schweizer wrote, "... a large proportion of the winners [companies receiving loans, loan guarantees, and grants] were companies with Obama-campaign connections. At least 10 members of Obama's finance committee and more than a dozen of his campaign bundlers were big winners in getting your money. At the same time, several politicians who supported Obama managed to strike gold by launching alternative-energy companies and obtaining grants." How much? Schweizer continues, "In the 1705 government-backed-loan program, $16.4 billion of the $20.5 billion in loans granted as of September 15 [2011] went to companies either run by or primarily owned by Obama financial backers." " So what "green energy" is all about is funneling money to Democrats that make campaign donations. Sounds like "pay-to-play" to me. Again, not a word of explanation from Mr. Darin on why the experts were predicting "global cooling" just 30 years ago. Mr. Darin, you wrote an "editorial" touting "green energy", now you owe us an explanation about why "green energy" is necessary. The ball is in your court. . . we're waiting to hear from you. Read more: http://www.americanthinker.com/2012/04/obamas_epic_green_fail.html#ixzz1tYFXBakH
Richard Schulte April 30, 2012 at 07:44 PM
Is green energy clean energy?: "Three months ago, CBS 5 caught Solyndra tossing millions of dollars worth of brand new glass tubes used to make solar panels. Now the bankrupt solar firm, once touted as a symbol of green technology, may be trying to abandon toxic waste. It’s a tedious process. Slowly but surely, the shattered remains of brand new solar panel tubes head to a recycling plant in Hayward. Meanwhile the next phase of the company’s liquidation is under way. It involves getting rid of all the heavy metals left inside the building that were used to make the panels." http://michellemalkin.com/2012/04/29/solyndra-toxic/ Caught you!!!
Richard Schulte April 30, 2012 at 09:00 PM
Say it ain't so Joe: So with all that in mind, let's turn our attention to what has actually happened since Obama took office. •SunPower, after receiving $1.5 billion from DOE, is reorganizing, cutting jobs. •First Solar, after receiving $1.46 billion from DOE, is reorganizing, cutting jobs. •Solyndra, after receiving $535 million from DOE, filed for bankruptcy protection. •Ener1, after receiving $118.5 million from DOE, filed for bankruptcy protection. •Evergreen Solar, after receiving millions of dollars from the state of Massachusetts, filed for bankruptcy protection. •SpectraWatt, backed by Intel and Goldman Sachs, filed for bankruptcy protection. •Beacon Power, after receiving $43 million from DOE, filed for bankruptcy protection. •Abound Solar, after receiving $400 million from DOE, filed for bankruptcy protection. •Abound Solar, after receiving $400 million from DOE, filed for bankruptcy protection. •Amonix, after receiving $5.9 million from DOE, filed for bankruptcy protection. •Babcock & Brown (an Australian company), after receiving $178 million from DOE, filed for bankruptcy protection. •A123 Systems, after receiving $279 million from DOE, shipped some bad batteries and is barely operating. It cut jobs. •Solar Trust for America, after receiving a $2.1-billion loan guarantee from DOE, filed for bankruptcy protection. Read more: http://www.americanthinker.com/2012/04/obamas_epic_green_fail.html#ixzz1tYkZXMZh
Richard Schulte May 03, 2012 at 01:14 PM
An excellent discussion of global warming/climate change science can be found at the following link: http://www.americanthinker.com/2012/05/global_warming_melts_away.html The article points out that there is a strong correlation between temperature rise and the US national debt. (The correlation is even stronger than the correlation between the carbon dioxide and temperature rise.) Hence, one can conclude that the cause of "global warming" is the increase in the US national debt.
Richard Schulte May 06, 2012 at 11:15 AM
Townhall columnist Marita Noon: The U.N. Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change predicted in 2007 that “Glaciers in the Himalayas are receding faster than in any other part of the world and if the present rate continues, the likelihood of their disappearing by the year 2035 and perhaps sooner is very high if the Earth keeps warming at the current rate.” Then, in 2010, they had to retract the estimate, admitting that it was based on “dubious scientific sources.” Time Magazine called the entire episode “a black eye for the IPCC and for the climate-science community as a whole.” Now, there is a new study reported in Nature that points out that the contribution of melting ice “is much less than previously estimated, with the lack of ice loss in the Himalayas and the other high peaks of Asia responsible for most of the discrepancy.” As the Himalayan story exposes, some of the science behind the manmade climate change hysteria is “dubious.” And some is the result of scientific misconduct, as was revealed in the Climategate scandal that exposed falsified records and silenced scientists." http://finance.townhall.com/columnists/maritanoon/2012/05/06/panetta_beats_war_drums_on_climate_change/page/2 Ooops-not again.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »