12 ETHS Students Named National Merit Finalists

The National Merit Scholarship Program named 12 Evanston Township High School students as 2013 finalists in the competition for a college scholarship.

Twelve Evanston Township High School students were named 2013 finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

They were chosen based on their scores on the PSAT test and their academic achievement, according to the National Merit Foundation, and are eligible to be considered for a scholarship toward college tuition. 

The students include Connor S. Brennan, Emma R. Cohen, Margaret M. Davies, Anna D. Kanter, Katherine J. Latimer, Liam P. Lundy, Allison J. Managlia, Caroline E. McFadden, Rosa G. Novak, Sarah M. Posner, Kim Myro Santos and Dina C. Sinclair.

National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced beginning in March.

For more Evanston school news, sign up for our free morning newsletter and like us on Facebook.

Procrustes' Foil February 21, 2013 at 10:56 AM
The proof's in the pudding! Public schools are successful and do produce excellent scholars.
Dileep Gangolli February 21, 2013 at 12:48 PM
Congrats to these young students who have worked so hard for this honor!
allofus February 21, 2013 at 02:04 PM
While these 12 people can certainly feel proud of the work they did to get those test scores, I hardly think we can give an overall pass to public schools in Evanston based upon 12 test scores.
Robert P. Mark February 21, 2013 at 06:52 PM
Imagine if the debate were about what kids actually learned instead of simply how well they test? Some pretty bright kids don't test well at all ...


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »